Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Jefferson County Open Space fee

Items that do not fit the categories above.

Re: Jefferson County Open Space fee

Postby pseudoghost » Fri Feb 08, 2013 8:05 pm

As a Jefferson County resident, I vote no. We don't need to import anymore bad ideas from Boulder.

Postby jsdratm » Fri Feb 08, 2013 8:32 pm

I think it is a bad idea in general, I don't want trailhead fees infecting the rest of the state

Postby Monte Meals » Fri Feb 08, 2013 9:04 pm

Manitou is considering / in the process of imposing parking fees on anyone
who climbs The Incline (locals excluded - natch.)

Postby MountainHiker » Fri Feb 08, 2013 9:38 pm

If you pay sales tax in Jefferson County or buy Colorado Lottery Tickets you are funding Jefferson County Open Space. According to their own website, property taxes are not a source. So to discriminate based on license plate is inequitable. We all travel through multiple counties for recreation. With Boulder there is an option for an annual pass which is presented as reasonable if you go there a lot. The trouble is there are too dam many jurisdictions. Bear Creek Lake Park is Lakewood. Cherry Creek is a state park. We have National Parks. There are hunks of Denver Mountain Parks and State Wildlife areas within Jefferson County Open Space areas. Part of Jefferson County has Foothills Parks and Recreation District. Colorado has 64 counties. What if they all want a fee to walk on a trail?

http://jeffco.us/openspace/openspace_T56_R50.htm#funds