Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Beginners Hiking Mt. Elbert, 9-3-2012

FAQ and threads for those just starting to hike the Colorado 14ers.

Beginners Hiking Mt. Elbert, 9-3-2012

Postby Schoenhofer » Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:26 am

I was driving through the Mt. Elbert area in September of 2010, stopped at the Black Cloud trail head, and just knew I had to come back some day. Now I'm making plans for another trip this September to include this. I started to research this and came across this place. What a great site!

My wife, my father, and I are planning on hiking Mt. Elbert on Labor Day. Since I am completely new to climbing mountains, or even long hikes, I plan to pick up some gear soon. I know there are probably some threads on this forum that cover some of my questions, and I will continue to search, but I see there is an abundance of experts here who could possibly help with some of these inquiries.

*A couple of things will make this a challenge. First, this will be the first day at high elevation for us on this vacation. Coming from Wichita, KS. Planning on staying in Buena Vista the night before. Next, my father has bad knees. I don't ever have a problem with high elevation, but my father, 56, may. As to his ability, we are working at getting him in condition, doing stair machines and such. It's an uncertainty. Assuming he can make it, but at a slow pace, what would be a reasonable estimate for time to summit? I've read to allow 8-10+ hours for the round trip. 5 to 7 hours to summit and 3 back down?

*We plan on taking an AWD Hyundai Sante Fe up to the East trail head (route 2 on this site). Looks like this trail is a little shorter than the North trail with a more consistent grade without any significant steep places. How do these routes compare for those that have climbed them? Is the East trail about an hour shorter, and a little easier?