Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Winter learning

FAQ and threads for those just starting to hike the Colorado 14ers.

Winter learning

Postby tehchad » Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:05 pm

I've done several, but I am a complete noob when it comes to winter, avy, winter camping, cravasse work, et al.

Those of you who have done any of the above, how did you learn it? I see the Boulder Rock Club has a mountain school in Estes that does this type of training and I lean towards that. Right now, my goal is to climb Denali in the next couple of years. If I find someone here who is capable and willing, awesome! If not, I'd like to be able to contribute to a guided group (RMI or etc).

What are your thoughts?

Re: Winter learning

Postby MatB » Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:25 pm

Don't mean to hijack your thread, but I am in a similar position. Don't have any ambition to climb Denali but would like to have the knowledge to climb in the winter. As fall comes to a close, my focus will be this spring and learning how to safely climb couloirs. With next summer's focus being on learning more about roped climbing, specifically how to set up rappels as that would open more hiking/climbing options for me (getting down is typically my biggest concern on sketchier terrain).

More throwing this out there in case there are any out there looking to add someone to their crew (who they may have to teach).

Last thing I throw out there is I teach and do not have any teaching buddies with the same passion for the mountains (I hike solo the majority of the time during the summer). So if your in a similar boat, shoot me a pm.