Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Fitness training for my first 14er

FAQ and threads for those just starting to hike the Colorado 14ers.

Fitness training for my first 14er

Postby hamerhokie » Tue Oct 09, 2007 3:33 pm

Hello all, I am a total newbie. I am an East Coaster who's been to Colorado a few times and hiked a bit here and there, plus did some rock climbing in the Estes Park area. My last visit took me to Ouray near Sneffels, and along the route that passes Antero, Princeton, etc. I've been exposed to enough 14ers now to know that I'd like to climb one. I've picked Gray's Peak for next summer.

Problem is, I need to work up from basically a low fitness level with no mountains in the area. All I have access to are treadmills with 15 degree incline and a finite amount of time each week.

The one-way trip to the Gray's summit comes to 3.75 miles at an average pitch of greater than 15 degrees. So my initial thoughts are to max the treadmill incline and work up to about a 4 mile hike at a reasonable pace.

So what is a reasonable pace? Two mph? Greater? Less? Or do you have any better training ideas? When I say no mountains in the area, I'm serious - hills only. So I am at a great training disadvantage here.

Fitness

Postby Falcon3 » Tue Oct 09, 2007 3:41 pm

It really depends on your goals. If you are in moderate shape, you can huff your way up there pretty much no matter what. My first 14er was done when I was about 50 pounds overweight.

If you'd like to have an easier time, jogging on that incline sounds like it will work. Walking up and down stairs making sure to work your calves works great too. I just took up bike riding and it seems like it will help with quad strengthening. It really depends on what you enjoy doing and how much work you put into it. The more work you do beforehand, the easier your climb will be.

Re: Fitness

Postby hamerhokie » Tue Oct 09, 2007 3:45 pm