14er circut

Colorado peak questions, condition requests and other info.
Forum rules
  • This is a mountaineering forum, so please keep your posts on-topic. Posts do not all have to be related to the 14ers but should at least be mountaineering-related.
  • Personal attacks and confrontational behavior will result in removal from the forum at the discretion of the administrators.
  • Do not use this forum to advertise, sell photos or other products or promote a commercial website.
  • Posts will be removed at the discretion of the site administrator or moderator(s), including: Troll posts, posts pushing political views or religious beliefs, and posts with the purpose of instigating conflict within the forum.
    For more details, please see the Terms of Use you agreed to when joining the forum.
jungle climber
Trip Reports (0)

14er circut

Post by jungle climber »

Hey guys,

I am new to 14ers.com. Have always looked at it, and finally decided to get an account. I live in Singapore and return home to Colorado in the summer to climb and backpack. I miss it so much!

Wanted to ask: this summer, some friends and I were thinking of going on a 5-6 day backpacking trip that included several 14ers. Does such a route exist that is not technically difficult or long mileage wise? I am guessing the Collegiate Peaks? But I want to know everything.

thanks much
wildlobo71
14ers: 58  5 
13ers: 88
Trip Reports (3)

Re: 14er circut

Post by wildlobo71 »

For pure beauty I'd head for the San Juans; You could set up base camp up Nellie Creek and hit Uncompaghre and Wetterhorn (Matterhorn, too, if you're not just in it for 14ers), then pack out and head down to Handies Peak and Whitecross Mountain (mid-13er) from either American Basin or Grizzly Gulch, then head across the basin and get Redcloud and Sunshine in an afternoon. That's 5 14ers, and 2 extra 13ers, too.

If you have time and energy, and a bit of patience because the drive is long, finish up at San Luis Peak.