Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Ski Mountaineering newbie

Info, conditions and gear related to skiing or riding Colorado Peaks, including the 14ers! Ski/Ride Trip Reports

Ski Mountaineering newbie

Postby Ochute » Tue Nov 27, 2012 2:58 am

Hey guys,
Been really trying to get my start in ski mountaineering this season.. if it ever starts. I have been doing my homework and i think ive figured out what 14ers to do this season when the snowpack cooperates. but im running into my first big issue, im a broke college student (I know prolly didnt need to add the broke part) and i am lacking a pretty good amount of gear, crampons ice axe and good AT boots, im slowly saving my pennies for the AT boots so i can enjoy some back country around the steamboat area this winter, But i still need help with the other gear, as well as knowledgeable people to climb and ski with. ive got some experience on 14ers, albeit in summer months, and my fair share of experience backcountry skiing, where im routinely told by the guys i ski with that im "hyper controlled" and "overly cautious" which i believe both of these statements to be essential uncharacteristic for my future in the mountains.
This brings about my real point and questions. What technical gear is absolutley essential so that i can beg for or borrow it this year, and are there any more experienced guys out there that would be interested in helping me out with my first 14er ski trip, (hoping to do either elbert (it was my 1st ever 14er) or torreys (because dead dog looks awesome))?
Thanks guys

Re: Ski Mountaineering newbie

Postby USAKeller » Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:24 am

Avalanche beacon, shovel, and probe.
How long after arriving at someone's house is it appropriate to ask for the WiFi password?

Postby mtngoat » Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:35 am

USAKeller wrote:Avalanche beacon, shovel, and probe.

X2