Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Skiing down a 14er

Info, conditions and gear related to skiing or riding Colorado Peaks, including the 14ers! Ski/Ride Trip Reports

Skiing down a 14er

Postby Mountain Goat1 » Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:18 pm

I was wondering if skiing down a 14er in February or March would be a good idea considering the lack of snow? I have checked reports and could not find anything recent. If we get more snow what 14ers would you recommend? I am new to 14ers I've done Sherman, Elbert, Grays, Torreys, and Quandary. NOTE I DID SUMMER CLIMBS ON THESE AND DID NOT SKI DOWN THEM.But, I have a lot of skiing experience and will not freak out or fall easily on a steep slope. Thank you for any responses in advance they really do help.

Re: Skiing down a 14er

Postby bergsteigen » Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:22 pm

Usually February can be quite sparse, though it gets better the farther you get into March. Last year was bad, this year may be too.

Here's a recent thread which may help: http://www.14ers.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=38762&p=469692
"Auto racing, bull fighting, and mountain climbing are the only real sports ... all others are games."
- Ernest Hemingway (or was it Barnaby Conrad?)

http://otinasadventures.com

Postby Mountain Goat1 » Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:24 pm

bergsteigen wrote:Usually February can be quite sparse, though it gets better the farther you get into March. Last year was bad, this year may be too.

Here's a recent thread which may help: http://www.14ers.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=38762&p=469692

Thanks this did help

Postby Bean » Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:33 pm

The peaks you've already done are a good place to start...maybe not Torreys depending on your ability level.
gdthomas wrote:Bean, you're an idiot.

http://throughpolarizedeyes.com

Postby Mountain Goat1 » Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:41 pm