Longs Peak rescue

Threads related to Colorado mountaineering accidents but please keep it civil and respectful. Friends and relatives of fallen climbers will be reading these posts.
Forum rules
Please be respectful when posting - family and friends of fallen climbers might be reading this forum.
Mark A Steiner
14ers: 3 
13ers: 11
Trip Reports (0)

Longs Peak rescue

Post by Mark A Steiner »

According to KOA Radio 850, Denver, a rescue operation, apparently involving technical climbing, is in progress on Longs Peak. Specifics about where on the mountain are lacking as this is posted.

According to the news report, two in a party became separated. One is apparently stranded and unable to go up or down. Hope this ends well.
Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatever state I am, therewith to be content - Paul the Apostle.
Like it or not, I am a slow driver. Putt ... putt ... putt ...
Good day.
jrs1965
14ers: 58  1  3 
13ers: 10
Trip Reports (0)

Re: Longs Peak rescue

Post by jrs1965 »

Last edited by jrs1965 on Wed May 28, 2014 1:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
pbakwin
14ers: 56 
13ers: 64
Trip Reports (19)

Post by pbakwin »

As usual the report makes no sense. I very much doubt an inexperienced person would make it down Kieners from the summit to Broadway with no gear & w/o very good knowledge of the route. Especially under current conditions. Maybe got stuck there on the way up.
nsaladin
14ers: 58  1  5 
13ers: 12 1
Trip Reports (0)

Post by nsaladin »

http://www.denverpost.com/news/ci_25850 ... calls-help" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
metalmountain
14ers: 42  1  2 
13ers: 26
Trip Reports (1)

Post by metalmountain »

pbakwin wrote:As usual the report makes no sense. I very much doubt an inexperienced person would make it down Kieners from the summit to Broadway with no gear & w/o very good knowledge of the route. Especially under current conditions. Maybe got stuck there on the way up.