Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Dog Ranking System

Dogs, dogs and even some cats
Forum rules
Let's try to keep the topics related to mountaineering, please.

Dog Ranking System

Postby swegner14 » Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:32 pm

I'm fairly new to 14ers.com, and I enjoy climbing 14ers with my dogs. Yet I recently just took them up Mt. Lindsey, and it was definitely difficult for them. They couldn't make it, and some of my hiking party had to stay with them while we took turns going to the summit.
I am suggesting that there should be a ranking system on each mountain for if dogs would be able to make the summit, or if it would just be a hassle to take them at all.

Re: Dog Ranking System

Postby jdorje » Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:41 pm

"It's Class 3."

"But what is that in Dog Class?"
-Jason Dorje Short

Postby swegner14 » Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:45 pm

Yes, rankings like that are sort of helpful, but I am thinking a specific class for dogs on whether they would be able to do that. And I'm not sure what Class 3 would be in Dog class...

Postby HikerGuy » Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:55 pm

I think the large range of dog breeds and their individual personalities/abilities would make it difficult to come up with a ranking system. Dogs have made it up Capitol Peak, but they are a rare breed. As a general rule, most dogs do not have a problem with hikes up to Class 2. You may begin to encounter issues with Difficult Class 2 hikes, at which Lindsey is ranked.

I would say that most dogs (not all) would have issues on the Difficult and Most Difficult peaks on this list, http://www.14ers.com/php14ers/usrpeaksrall.php. Most dogs are less likely to have issues on the Moderate peaks with the Difficult Class 2 peaks being the exceptions (Blanca Peak, Mt. Sneffels, Castle Peak, Ellingwood Point, Challenger Point, Windom Peak.)

Postby nancyb » Sun Jul 08, 2012 10:55 pm