Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Two-Day Avy Course

Info on gear, conditioning, and preparation for hiking/climbing. Gear Classifieds

Two-Day Avy Course

Postby jblyth » Tue Nov 20, 2012 11:12 am

Thinking about signing up for this Groupon, does anyone have experience with this company?

http://www.groupon.com/deals/apex-ex-4?utm_campaign=UserReferral&utm_medium=email&utm_source=uu38051256

Re: Two-Day Avy Course

Postby Bean » Tue Nov 20, 2012 11:34 am

I have no experience with that company, but the course does not appear to be an AIARE Level 1. It may be a fine course with good instructors but it could be an issue if you decide to take an AIARE Level 2 course in the future.
gdthomas wrote:Bean, you're an idiot.

http://throughpolarizedeyes.com

Postby jblyth » Tue Nov 20, 2012 11:56 am

Bean wrote:I have no experience with that company, but the course does not appear to be an AIARE Level 1. It may be a fine course with good instructors but it could be an issue if you decide to take an AIARE Level 2 course in the future.

That is good to know. I'll call them to check, but if that's the case, I'll probably pass on it. Thanks Bean.

Postby jmc5040 » Tue Nov 20, 2012 8:09 pm

I came across the same Groupon and looked at it briefly. Let me know if you find out whether it follows the AIARE guidelines in curriculum as I have a friend who was looking into taking it. As far as the company goes, I took an intro to outdoor climbing course through APEX and had a good experience overall. The instructor went into more detail than what was to be covered in that particular course by our request and really tailored it to our experience levels.
"My senses become heightened and the stresses of life fade with each step I take further from civilization. When I'm in the wilderness my brain and body work seamlessly together to do their finest work - a single flowing track down one of natures high peaks." - Jeremy Jones