Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Cook tent for mountaineering - recommendations?

Info on gear, conditioning, and preparation for hiking/climbing. Gear Classifieds

Cook tent for mountaineering - recommendations?

Postby ulvetano » Wed Jan 09, 2013 12:39 pm

Anyone have any recommendations or leads (for purchase) for a cook tent? Essentially, I'm exploring what's out there for dialing in a base camp. Planning on having a 2-3 4-season tents, but would like to set up a floorless cook tent, build some snow benches/tables, etc underneath it and have a nice common area to hang out in. Anyone have experience with these and could you steer me in the right direction? thanks! Chuck

Re: Cook tent for mountaineering - recommendations?

Postby Dave B » Wed Jan 09, 2013 2:17 pm

I have zero experience with such a situation, but how many people? I'm assuming <6 if you're only going with 2-3 tents.

Would a betamid work? I'm kind of assuming this is for the Alaska trip you posted on a while back, but it seems a betamid with a dug-out platform (2-4) feet would probably work well for that many people.

Or you could mortgage your house and buy one of these
"There is no cheating in climbing, only lying." - Semi-Rad

Postby Bean » Wed Jan 09, 2013 2:22 pm

BD Megalight
gdthomas wrote:Bean, you're an idiot.

http://throughpolarizedeyes.com

Postby ulvetano » Wed Jan 09, 2013 2:39 pm

Thanks all for the info so far. Mega Light was the only off the shelf version that I had my eye on. Seems about right for what I'm looking for, but I wasn't sure if it was meant for harsh conditions (yes Dave, prepping for the AK trip in April). Looks like there were more options years past, but many are discontinued.

Postby RoanMtnMan » Wed Jan 09, 2013 4:24 pm