Sleeping Bag Opinion

Info on gear, conditioning, and preparation for hiking/climbing.
Forum rules
  • This is a mountaineering forum, so please keep your posts on-topic. Posts do not all have to be related to the 14ers but should at least be mountaineering-related.
  • Personal attacks and confrontational behavior will result in removal from the forum at the discretion of the administrators.
  • Do not use this forum to advertise, sell photos or other products or promote a commercial website.
  • Posts will be removed at the discretion of the site administrator or moderator(s), including: Troll posts, posts pushing political views or religious beliefs, and posts with the purpose of instigating conflict within the forum.
For more details, please see the Terms of Use you agreed to when joining the forum.
Marmot96
14ers: 57  6  9 
13ers: 22 2
Trip Reports (0)

Sleeping Bag Opinion

Post by Marmot96 »

I am a college student on a budget, so price is more important than weight at the moment. I currently use a REI Lumen 25 (synthetic) bag for all of my trips - but I am done with spending nights shivering in the winter, even after being bundled up in all of my clothing.

I am trying to buy a winter bag, and it needs to be under $300 and of respectable quality. My three choices right now are:

Mountain Hardwear Bozeman Torch 0 - $150

http://www.mountainhardwear.com/bozeman ... gh&start=0" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Mountain Hardwear Lamina Z Blaze -15 - $279

http://www.mountainhardwear.com/lamina- ... nColor=709" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Mountain Hardwear Lamina Bonfire -30 - $300

http://www.mountainhardwear.com/lamina- ... nColor=011" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Of course, I am open to other options in the price range, but most/all down bags are way out of my budget. I want to purchase one bag only, that will work for extended trips in CO, Alaska and Washington. Advice?
benlen
14ers: 58  5 
13ers: 15 9 1