Total Newbie Mt Evans

FAQ and threads for those just starting to hike the Colorado 14ers.
Forum rules
  • This is a mountaineering forum, so please keep your posts on-topic. Posts do not all have to be related to the 14ers but should at least be mountaineering-related.
  • Personal attacks and confrontational behavior will result in removal from the forum at the discretion of the administrators.
  • Do not use this forum to advertise, sell photos or other products or promote a commercial website.
  • Posts will be removed at the discretion of the site administrator or moderator(s), including: Troll posts, posts pushing political views or religious beliefs, and posts with the purpose of instigating conflict within the forum.
For more details, please see the Terms of Use you agreed to when joining the forum.
boliverallmon
Trip Reports (0)

Total Newbie Mt Evans

Post by boliverallmon »

So the family and I are coming to Colorado in July and want to tackle a peak. We are leaning towards Mt Evans because it is close to Denver as well as a few things. Can someone look over my thinking to see if I am correct?

If we do West Ridge from Summit lake, is it 5 miles one way or 5 miles there and back?

Also I have a little tyke that will be with us. We like the idea of Mt Evans because the panoramic pic on this site shows a parking lot at the top. So we can start the hike and go as far as the kiddo can go. When we reach the end of her limits, the wife and kiddo can go back to the car and just meet us up at the top of Mt Evans.

So am I thinking through this correctly or missing something.

Also would any other peaks or trails fit the same kind of criteria (have a parking lot near the top where the wife could meet us and all)? Any other advice you can give for a Texan family who doesn't have hills much less mountains near him.

Thanks in advance
LarryM
14ers: 27 
13ers: 32
Trip Reports (3)

Re: Total Newbie Mt Evans

Post by LarryM »

It's round trip.