Need for a hand gun or any Gun?

The Classics
Forum rules
This forum is read-only
PabloEscabar
Trip Reports (0)

Need for a hand gun or any Gun?

Post by PabloEscabar »

Was just reading the topic about Animal related hazards at this time of year! While I was reading the reponses I very suprised to see that so many of you carry GUNS when climbing 14er's. I was just wondering what size (how tall and how many lbs ) you guys that are carrying the GUNS are? Do you all hike solo? Where would you carry a hand GUN or any GUN that you would be able to grab for it, aim, and hit something fast enough? Do you wear it on a belt holster?
sunshine1
Trip Reports (0)

Post by sunshine1 »

NO.NO NO...Guns...Of course, I have no 14'er climbing experience but common sense tells me that it they would be fruitless up there or anywhere for that matter. Just my .02 .. sorry. What the heck are you going to do w/a gun climbing anyway?
Who is John Galt?
rlw49
14ers: 8 
Trip Reports (0)

Post by rlw49 »

PabloEscobar Got drugs??

I see no need for guns on hikes. However, I do carry a small mortar in my pack. Never know when you might need to lob one into the snow pack to release a possible avalanche. That way I don't have to attend all those refresher classes on av. safety. Just drop one and walk on.
kiddrockies
14ers: 30 
Trip Reports (0)

Post by kiddrockies »

I climb/hike alone about half the time, and never carry a gun, other than my beautiful biceps. One flex and all attackers flee like scared little sissies.

But seriously, there have been times that I was glad for my lethal ice axe. The early morning surprise with bear-eyes that turned out to be a cow, for instance.....
The Lord God is my strength, and He will make my feet like hind's feet, and He will make me to walk upon the high places.
Habakkuk 3:19

And after he had dismissed the crowds, he went up the mountain by himself to pray.
Matthew 14:23
grizz
Trip Reports (0)

Re: Need for a hand gun or any Gun?

Post by grizz »