New to 14ers, leery of weather

FAQ and threads for those just starting to hike the Colorado 14ers.
Forum rules
  • This is a mountaineering forum, so please keep your posts on-topic. Posts do not all have to be related to the 14ers but should at least be mountaineering-related.
  • Personal attacks and confrontational behavior will result in removal from the forum at the discretion of the administrators.
  • Do not use this forum to advertise, sell photos or other products or promote a commercial website.
  • Posts will be removed at the discretion of the site administrator or moderator(s), including: Troll posts, posts pushing political views or religious beliefs, and posts with the purpose of instigating conflict within the forum.
For more details, please see the Terms of Use you agreed to when joining the forum.
teamfindleyrm
14ers: 1 
Trip Reports (0)

New to 14ers, leery of weather

Post by teamfindleyrm »

Hello everyone. I'm relatively new to CO having just relocated from the Midwest in December. As such I'm not yet familiar with the summer weather here. My wife and I are looking to make our first attempt on a 14er this weekend with a hike up the NW slope of Pikes Peak. We also were going to do this last weekend but saw potential rain/storms in the forecast. We called off the hike and now this week I've been seeing many posts here and on the Facebook page showing people reaching summits all of last weekend. Needless to say we were quite disappointed that we didn't make the attempt. I searched the forums and could not find an answer to my concerns, though if I missed it I apologize for the redundant question. My question is this: at what point does the forecast become reliable enough to either go for the hike or cancel it? It's looking again like rain is in the forecast this weekend and we are hoping not to call off another hike. Thanks in advance for any tips you may have.
denvermikey
14ers: 51 
13ers: 166
Trip Reports (12)